COVID-19: Safe stay measures are being taken at all of our hostels and YHAs are following all relevant State based travel restrictions.
See our Covid page for full details.

Fremantle Prison YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Fremantle Prison YHA

What travellers think
Reviews (2118 guests have reviewed this hostel)
Love it and took my 2 girls ages 6 and 7 both are still talkin about the prison x we had a own room double bed and bunk beds and own bathroom xx was a 8 minute walk to time zone shops and about 11 minutes to the big wheel and big park xx Craig was amazing and so helpful when we arrived I’ve seen some bad reviews but honestly where we stayed and our room was so good and so refreshing to read bad reviews and go and have a wonderful stay xx thank u and we will be back again xx
100%
Sarah T 15/04/2021
Great way to experience the Prison the accommodation and facilities were kept clean and it was not loud making sleeping easy friendly staff can not fault the place we enjoyed our stay and will return
98%
Robyn S 11/04/2021
Always happy to stay at this location when needing accommodation in Fremantle. The location is ideal and it’s a great use of the old Fremantle prison.
100%
Lynden G 02/04/2021
Absolutely brilliant
100%
Robin A 28/03/2021
Was a good experience.
98%
Leida C 28/03/2021
Great place! Comfy and clean rooms. Staff is super friendly despite being extremely busy.
100%
John H 23/03/2021
The hostel is cool but it was very dirty. There's no enough plates, cutlery in the kitchen. Toilets and kitchen very dirty and the staff is not very friendly
45%
Camila V 12/03/2021
The hostel was good, but the staff was the worst, they are always in a bad mood. I don’t know if was because the hostel was full and the staff wasn’t enough or what, but they always answer me in a bad way, they were really rude with one of my friends.
58%
Marina W 07/03/2021
Great place to stay for cheap
90%
Lisa S 02/03/2021
Could not fault the cleanliness and the amenities. Thoroughly recommend
92%
Jamie A 01/03/2021

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That’s why when you give us your email address, you will be invited to rate your hostel stay upon checkout.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

We will not publish inappropriate and/or offensive comments.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language, swearing or references to illicit drug usage.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

We will not publish any comments that are not directly related to the hostel, or your experience during your stay.

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated, incorrect or you did not stay at the hostel that you are commenting on.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

We will not publish comments that include full staff names, irrespective of whether your comment is positive or negative.

First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If you make a negative comment, we will remove any reference to particular staff members.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as major hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

88%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
83%
Condition of facilities
87%
Efficiency of service
87%
Friendliness of staff
86%
Location
95%
Overall atmosphere
83%
Safety & Security
92%
Value for Money
89%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL

YHA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia. We acknowledge and pay our respects to Elders past, present, emerging and the extended Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island community.