COVID-19: Safe stay measures are being taken at all of our hostels and YHAs are following all relevant State based travel restrictions.
See our Covid page for full details.

Sydney Railway Square YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney Railway Square YHA

What travellers think
Reviews (7537 guests have reviewed this hostel)
The rooms were very clean and had what was needed for my stay. Had to close the window because of noise from the station but later in the evening it was quiet. Saw no one when visiting the bathroom. Other patrons respected those that maybe sleeping.
92%
Margaret T 07/10/2020
Well we just liked the whole place And hope to stay there again soon Very hospital to us...
90%
Judith O 02/10/2020
I did find a couple of staff were not very polite but overall was ok
100%
Richard L 01/10/2020
Great location, spacious social area, super clean kitchen and having the cafe is a nice touch. Staff were very accommodating.
100%
Rhys J 24/09/2020
I like this hostel
85%
Madhel M 12/09/2020
Easy to walk to from Central. Thanks to a guest I was sharing a cabin with I learnt of a fantastic place to eat nearby - Spice Alley. Staff welcoming, friendly & helpful, maybe missing vibrancy of overseas travellers though!
82%
Lucy T 05/09/2020
One or two staff member needs to brush up on their communication skills otherwise all good
92%
Richard L 02/09/2020
Very welcoming crew on the front desk and 2 mins to the traino was perfect for me
95%
Ronald D 29/08/2020
Clean, quite and comfortable room Really nice common areas love the artwork around this place.
98%
Lara L 27/08/2020
Nothing to report
100%
Richard L 22/08/2020

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

94%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
91%
Condition of facilities
90%
Efficiency of service
94%
Friendliness of staff
96%
Location
96%
Overall atmosphere
93%
Safety & Security
96%
Value for Money
95%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL