COVID-19: Safe stay measures are being taken at all of our hostels and YHAs are following all relevant State based travel restrictions.
See our Covid page for full details.

Sydney Railway Square YHA

Check in
Check out
Book with ePack

Customer reviews of Sydney Railway Square YHA

What travellers think
Reviews (7612 guests have reviewed this hostel)
The hostel is close to the center of Sydney and reasonably priced, can be a bit noisy close to the station though.
82%
John J 13/04/2021
The receptionists were friendly excluding some resolutions. Private showroom and shared twin rooms are effective.
62%
Munguntulkhuur D 13/04/2021
Traveling down to visit friends and family, from the North Coast of NSW, I have been staying at the Woolshed YHA Hostel for 20+ years. The train arrives at about 8 pm, so it is wonderful to be able to spend a couple of days in Sydney before travelling further South. It feels like a second home - safe, friendly, interesting and welcoming. I love the hostel atmosphere and all ages are welcome.
98%
Julie W 10/04/2021
Very good and close to central railway station
100%
David M 10/04/2021
Great stay
98%
Danie M 07/04/2021
Ok, good location and communal dining area etc, but the shower heads were too low and there was a shelf blocking the stream of water from them too. Also the railway carriages were very damp on the inside due to condensation from breath and had mosquitoes in them. .
62%
Franklin P 06/04/2021
I would definitely recommend this hostel to a friend. I’ve stayed in many hostels in my time here in Australia and this is by far one of the nicest. I love the fact they they have 4 bedded rooms as I don’t like to feel cramped. Friendly staff. Good facilities. And lovely cosy and comfy chill out areas all over the hostel which makes it more homely.
100%
Christine S 28/03/2021
I love the location great for catching public transport and the shopping is also good. I have a can do attitude and the staff at YHA also has this attitude. It seems to run like clockwork, I like the spacyness is this a word?
100%
Lina B 19/03/2021
YHA Railway Square has newer facilities and it's nice and clean . The location is 6 stars for travellers who needs to stay in CBD for play or work. Train carriage room is a new experience, but too bright. I will bring an eye mask next time.
98%
Karen L 12/03/2021
Spanish guest made me feel welcome
90%
Brian G 08/03/2021

Hostel Rating See Customer Rating Guidelines

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON YHA.COM.AU

YHA believes that you should be given a true picture of what other guests have to say about our hostels. That's why when you make a booking on yha.com.au, you will be invited by email to rate your hostel stay upon checkout. These ratings are then published, unedited, whether you give the hostel a good or bad review. Average ratings are calculated based on the last 50 customer submissions.

We review these ratings daily, and publish any comments, images and tips provided. We don't edit your comments and will publish them whether they are good or bad. However, there are a few instances where we will not publish the comments online:

INAPPROPRIATE OR OFFENSIVE COMMENTS

Any inappropriate and/or offensive comments won't be published.

Inappropriate or offensive comments include, but are not limited to, personal harassment or discrediting of YHA staff, hate speech, sexually explicit language or swearing.

UNSUBSTANTIATED OR INCORRECT CLAIMS

Hostels will have the right to have negative comments removed if they can prove that claims are unsubstantiated or incorrect. YHA Australia will investigate the claim prior to publishing online. Examples where we have not published a comment for this reason are mostly due to guests mixing up different hostels they had booked.

COMMENTS INCLUDING STAFF NAMES

Reviews that feature full staff names will not be published, whether in relation to a positive or negative comment. First names of staff will be published in positive comments only.

If a negative comment is made, all reference to a particular staff member will be removed.

CHANGED CIRCUMSTANCES IN HOSTELS

If there have been any major changes such as hostel renovations, new management/owners, and we believe the previous ratings are no longer relevant, YHA will remove all submissions and the rating calculations will commence from zero.

Please note: YHA Australia will not enter into correspondence with the reviewer whether a comment is suitable or not.

92%
Average Customer Rating
Cleanliness
87%
Condition of facilities
89%
Efficiency of service
92%
Friendliness of staff
96%
Location
97%
Overall atmosphere
90%
Safety & Security
94%
Value for Money
90%
badge image

TRAVEL TO LEARN. LEARN TO TRAVEL

YHA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia. We acknowledge and pay our respects to Elders past, present, emerging and the extended Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island community.